Day Thirty Two. When Answers Are Not What You Wanted To Hear.

Day Thirty Two.

What a weekend we have had! Sometimes life comes at you so fast you feel like you got blindsided and left for dead. This weekend was one of those… I had a colonoscopy that revealed some unpleasant news, two of my kids got a nasty stomach bug and my littlest is in the middle of teething hell. It has been a fantastic weekend, ha! ๐Ÿ™‚

I started this journey a little over a month ago, I have learned so much that I would never change, but it has also been the most challenging month for our family on so many different levels. It seems in my quest for health we have gone through MORE health problems. I feel like we are on a roller coaster and at the moment we are on the huge downward plunge – I guess I just need to hold my hands up, close my eyes and scream until we reach the end and start to climb up again. Sounds like more fun anyways.

We are waiting on several biopsies to confirm for sure, but my initial results revealed Crohn’s Disease. We did catch it at the very beginning, to which I am so thankful, but I was still not ready to hear THAT. I am a young mom, have very small children, have not even been married 10 years yet…I should be in my prime for health and now I am getting slapped with a second disease that has no cure, just management. It was tough to hear.

My Doctor wanted to start me on medication right away to heal my gut. Quick Fact: roughly over 500,000 Americans suffer from Crohn’s Disease. In other Countries this number is drastically different. I wonder why….GMO’s perhaps? I am not sure how long I will need to be on the medication, she made mention for several years. My plan is to take it long enough to get my colon healed and then, hopefully, slowly wean myself from it by eating the right foods and continuing the healing through food.

So many thoughts have been running through my head. I am trying to “not even go there” right now and wait for confirmation on the biopsies. The only change I needed to make right away was to stop breast feeding my baby. Wow, I was not ready for how hard that would be or how upset I would be over it!

I had the unique experience to actually SEE inside my gut, to see that damage that has happened in my short 20 something years here on earth. I am even more concerned and passionate about eating healthy and the way God intended us to eat. So, on that note. Here is a good Know Your Ingredients, Name This Product for you. Leave your guesses in the comment section and check back tomorrow for the answer (oh and the results from Bradley’s Endoscopy!).

Know Your Product Icon

#4.

STRAWBERRY FILLING (CORN SYRUP, DEXTROSE, STRAWBERRIES, CRACKER MEAL, APPLES, WEHAT STARCH, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL, CITRIC ACID, XANTHAN GUM, RED #40), ENRICHED WHEAT FLOUR, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL, CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, WHEY, DEXTROSE, SALT, BAKING POWDER, BAKING SODA. VITAMINS AND MINERALS; NIACINAMIDE, IRON, VITAMIN A (PALMITATE), VITAMIN B6 (PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE), VITMAMIN B2 (RIBOFLAVIN), VITAMIN B1 (THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE), AND FOLIC ACID.

6 thoughts on “Day Thirty Two. When Answers Are Not What You Wanted To Hear.

  1. I am so sorry for the diagnosis and especially for the loss of the breastfeeding relationship. Allow yourself to grieve over both issues and then continue working on healing and health for you and your family.

Leave a comment